Nick’s Friday Brew Review! Brewery Ommegang G.o.T Take The Black Stout

A stout befitting of a king indeed! This black-as-the-characters-hearts craft beer tastes incredible and smells just as great! As part of a collab between Brewery Ommegang and HBO, this brew kicks ass!

How’d it taste?

The first thing that struck me was the malt. Mild taste, but you could still pick it up. There were even some notes of chocolate, too.

The oak flavor was present at each stage from start to finish and was complimented by a licorice bite as well.

It was a medium-thick mouth feel and the aftertaste wasn’t all that bad, either!

The aroma?

“dang, dude” is all I can say about that. The aforementioned oak and some chocolate esters were the dominating factors in this brew.

You could smell some of the malt as well as a mild hop bitter which you couldn’t taste.

Lasting impressions?

Considering this was a bargain-bin buy, I’d say it was pretty great!

I’m not even a G.o.T fan and I don’t intend to start, but I whole-heartedly recommend picking it up for yourself and giving it a try.

-Nick

Author: NicksPhunkyIdeas

Writer, vlogger, and beer geek. I love video games and making silly YouTube clips. You can find me posting reviews, lurking in beer forums, or trying to brew different recipes with varying degrees of success. I'm a journalist first and foremost. Regardless of what I think, Ill share brew news and stories and try and let the general public know the facts! If you like what I say, let me know! If not, go ahead and tell me anyway! Everything can be considered constructive feedback!

Leave a Reply

