Nick’s Friday Brew Review: Toppling Goliath Brewing Co. Pseudo Sue Pale Ale

Do you like dinosaurs with stubby arms? How about the Field Museum in Chicago? Or hoppy craft beer?

This craft beer had it all!

Toppling Goliath is based out of Decorah, Iowa. If you ever find yourself in the quad cities region, give them a buzz!

How’d it taste?

Really light actually. It wasn’t overly bitter and it was a fresh taste of hops and some fruity esters. A pleasant mouth-feel with a bit of an after bite with every sip.

Now I don’t know if this batch had a particularly high yeast settle-out in the batch or if it was supposed to have some bits of flavoring hops still there, but it did.

I’m not complaining, it just wasn’t terribly crystal clear to look at.

How’d it smell?

Like a pale ale. Not super hoppy and a pleasantly dank aroma filled my nose after opening the can and each sip.

A bit fruity, some pine-ish scents, but it was all with balance.

The verdict?

Awesome beer. I’m giving it a 3.75 out 5 stars. Standard fare ale that goes down smooth. The cloudiness in the brew is what lost the full star.

Watch it on my YouTube channel, too!

 

Author: NicksPhunkyIdeas

Writer, vlogger, and beer geek. I love video games and making silly YouTube clips. You can find me posting reviews, lurking in beer forums, or trying to brew different recipes with varying degrees of success. I'm a journalist first and foremost. Regardless of what I think, Ill share brew news and stories and try and let the general public know the facts! If you like what I say, let me know! If not, go ahead and tell me anyway! Everything can be considered constructive feedback!

Leave a Reply

