NES Classic discontinued, Call of Duty gearing up for a new release.

That’s right: no more NES Classic consoles will be produced anymore. But we get a new installment in everyone’s (secretly) favorite FPS.

Bye-bye, NES Classic.

Nintendo recently discontinued their NES Classic mini-console. They’re sending out the last shipments throughout the month of April. Between the start of the month and the tail end, the console was difficult, if not impossible, to find.

nes classic 2

 

They released a statement to IGN explaining that the console was only a limited-run promotion and that supplies would eventually run out. They added a few more into the last batches of production to get a few extra out.

Heck, they were even sold out on Amazon. Best Buy released the last of their stock on April 24, both in store and on-line. I went to their website and looked for myself and sure enough, the Classic was gone.

You can make your own.

For reals. West Hart, a tech-savvy friend of mine, saw me talking about it on Facebook and told me that he just built his own. Obviously not a knock-off replica, but a system that does the same exact function.

“Get a raspberry pie 3 kit. Install retropie onto a mini sd card. Find roms of games you want to play. Install the games and hook up a USB controller and configure them and play the games.”

Raspberry-Pi-3-top-down-web
This thing.

 

He told me this was all possible for about $80 on the high end depending where you shop.

A new Call of Duty!

codww3.png
Image from callofduty.com

Sledgehammer Games just released the reveal trailer for the newest game in the franchise.  It’s been confirmed that we’re going back to World War 2 with this one and fans have been rejoicing, myself included.

I’ll admit I left the franchise behind after Black Ops. I was starting to get tired of the arena style combat and later on when the new games started to take on an incredibly futuristic and Major League Gaming feel to it.

The game’s history.

Aaron Berogan of RAM TV shared some insights with me on the latest release.

“(EA Games) Battlefield 1 did a bomb job with their take on WW1. And this isn’t CoD’s first go at WW2. They did World at War, which is by far my favorite. I’m sort of excited about this one.”

He added that with their repetition for releasing a new title every year, the games can have a similar feel about them and that it can feel like a new back drop sometimes.

Everyone is hoping this new one will break that mold.

 

Author: NicksPhunkyIdeas

Writer, vlogger, and beer geek. I love video games and making silly YouTube clips. You can find me posting reviews, lurking in beer forums, or trying to brew different recipes with varying degrees of success. I'm a journalist first and foremost. Regardless of what I think, Ill share brew news and stories and try and let the general public know the facts! If you like what I say, let me know! If not, go ahead and tell me anyway! Everything can be considered constructive feedback!

Leave a Reply

