I went to Barb City BrewFest!

Here’s the crazy part. I only tried one beer. That’s not to say that there wasn’t plenty to choose from. Quite the opposite.

I had my camera out the entire and was meeting plenty of new people.

The day.

I ran into old friends like JD Heinrich who owns The Forge in Sycamore. He had let me hang out and interview while he was in the middle of making a new batch of brew.

We talked for a few minutes about his opening a new brew pub in the summer and starting the process of opening a production facility in DeKalb.

The need for a second location comes as he has grown short on room in the current building. The current set-up utilizes four large tanks in the dining room and shares space with the beer bar.

“I’m excited. It’s still a long road, but we’re past most of the hurdles.”

brewfest3

Right next to the Forge’s table was Cademon Brewery. I had worked with owner Andrew Nordman on a previous video project and he let out a loud “Hello!”

He brought his IPA and another variation of the Eve’s Tuition porter. I gave it a sip and was not disappointed.

Like JD, he ran into room constraints at his current building and already opened a second location. Now  he’s working on the menu with a taco recipe that he’s proud of and wants to use.

“Right now, I’m leaning towards tacos as the menu building block!”

A great turnout.

On top of old friends, I floated around to different tables who had people from the breweries. As I found out, it was volunteers doing the pouring for a majority of the breweries represented.

brewfest1

Overall, the festival was awesome and Alessandro was pleased with the turnout. Before I departed, he told me they were getting ready for the second of wave of ticket holders.

I burned through both camera batteries shortly after the VIP tasting and took my leave after.

I can’t wait for the next one!

-Nick

Author: NicksPhunkyIdeas

Writer, vlogger, and beer geek. I love video games and making silly YouTube clips. You can find me posting reviews, lurking in beer forums, or trying to brew different recipes with varying degrees of success. I'm a journalist first and foremost. Regardless of what I think, Ill share brew news and stories and try and let the general public know the facts! If you like what I say, let me know! If not, go ahead and tell me anyway! Everything can be considered constructive feedback!

2 thoughts on “I went to Barb City BrewFest!”

  1. I’m surprised they were able to hold a beer fest at the convo center considering it’s part of the college. I went to Brew at the Bridge in Oswego the last few years and was disappointed they had the volunteers too instead of people that actually work for the brewers.

    Like

    1. It wasn’t bad by any measure. I think the fact that only a few breweries had people there allowed me to talk more one-on-one with them before the event started. I made the contacts I wanted and re-familiarized with some old acquaintances!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

