Giving Mass Effect: Andromeda a try.

I’ll start with this: I’ve never played any Mass Effect game before. Science-y space combat RPGs have never been my thing.

What is my thing? Games where I have skill trees to build and materials to scrap and reconstruct into other equally useless things.

As it turns out, Andromeda has exactly what I’m looking for.

How so?

The very first thing I noticed when I fired up my new digital copy was a slew of DLC points available. Mostly what looked like space dollars and different kinds of rocks. They wanted me to give them real money for these things.

Alright. Cool. I can deal with micro-transactions.

When I got into the first level after having just crash landed, I saw that my character’s scanner device could scan rocks and the aliens that I just vaporized. It gave me points for this and what looked like those aforementioned space bucks.

Boxes everywhere.

As I progressed through the level, I noticed that I had an inventory screen that was filling up with stuff. You could scrap it, consume it, or modify your equipment with.

You also found weapons and some other items that offered you blueprints. You could use these blueprints to craft new items to help you through your journey of taking over the galaxy.

There’s a space buggy, too.

You can travel across the galaxy and stop at different planets along the way. You can meet new traders and buy other neato items.

You have a space buggy that lets you traverse a planet’s surface too. You can drop homing beacons and set way points for fast travel.

Should you buy it?

Absolutely. If this game has even more features than what the trial version revealed, you can bet you’re going to be in for a treat.

-Cheers til’next time, Nick

(Updated 4/17/17)

 

Author: NicksPhunkyIdeas

Writer, vlogger, and beer geek. I love video games and making silly YouTube clips. You can find me posting reviews, lurking in beer forums, or trying to brew different recipes with varying degrees of success. I'm a journalist first and foremost. Regardless of what I think, Ill share brew news and stories and try and let the general public know the facts! If you like what I say, let me know! If not, go ahead and tell me anyway! Everything can be considered constructive feedback!

Leave a Reply

